

Chairman Nadler Welcomes New House Judiciary Committee Democratic Majority and Announces Subcommittee Assignments for 116th Congress

Stay informed and connected: <u>Judiciary.House.Gov</u> / <u>@HouseJudiciary</u>

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: January 23, 2019 CONTACTS: Shadawn Reddick-Smith, 202-225-6906 Daniel Schwarz, 202-225-5635

Washington, D.C. – Today, House Judiciary Chairman Jerrold Nadler (D-NY) welcomed the new Democratic Majority to the House Judiciary Committee and announced subcommittee assignments for the 116th Congress. Nine new Members have joined the Democratic Majority on the Committee, including Representatives Correa (CA-46), Scanlon (PA-5), Garcia (TX-29), Neguse (CO-2), McBath (GA-6), Stanton (AZ-9), Dean (PA-4), Mucarsel-Powell (FL-26), and Escobar (TX-16).

"I am proud to welcome our outstanding new Members to the House Committee on the Judiciary for the 116th Congress," said **Chairman Jerrold Nadler (D-NY)**. "Each Member brings tremendous experience as lawyers, advocates, and public servants to help inform the work we have ahead. At such a critical time in our Nation's history, I look forward to working with all of my new colleagues as we continue the important work of the Judiciary Committee in fighting to protect the rule of law, strengthening our safety and security from enemies foreign and domestic, shielding Americans' civil rights and civil liberties, and guaranteeing that all people, no matter their age, race, gender, religion, ability, finances, nationality, or sexual orientation, are treated fairly and equally."

The House Judiciary Committee Democratic Structure for the 116th Congress:

- Rep. Jerrold Nadler (NY-10), Chair
- Rep. Zoe Lofgren (CA-19)
- Rep. Sheila Jackson Lee (TX-18)
- Rep. Steve Cohen (TN-9)
- Rep. Hank Johnson (GA-4)
- Rep. Ted Deutch (FL-22)
- Rep. Karen Bass (CA-37)

- Rep. Cedric Richmond (LA-2)
- Rep. Hakeem Jeffries (NY-8)
- Rep. David Cicilline (RI-1)
- Rep. Eric Swalwell (CA-15)
- Rep. Ted Lieu (CA-33)
- Rep. Jamie Raskin (MD-8)
- Rep. Pramila Jayapal (WA-7)
- Rep. Val Demings (FL-10)
- Rep. Lou Correa (CA-46)
- Rep. Mary Gay Scanlon (PA-5), Vice Chair
- Rep. Sylvia Garcia (TX-29)
- Rep. Joe Neguse (CO-2)
- Rep. Lucy McBath (GA-6)
- Rep. Greg Stanton (AZ-9)
- Rep. Madeleine Dean (PA-4)
- Rep. Debbie Mucarsel-Powell (FL-26)
- Rep. Veronica Escobar (TX-16)

Subcommittee on Antitrust, Commercial and Administrative Law:

- Rep. Cicilline (Chair)
- Rep. Johnson
- Rep. Raskin
- Rep. Jayapal
- Rep. Demings
- Rep. Scanlon
- Rep. Neguse
- Rep. McBath

Subcommittee on the Constitution, Civil Rights and Civil Liberties:

- Rep. Cohen (Chair)
- Rep. Raskin
- Rep. Swalwell
- Rep. Scanlon
- Rep. Dean
- Rep. Garcia
- Rep. Escobar
- Rep. Jackson Lee

Subcommittee on Crime, Terrorism and Homeland Security:

- Rep. Bass (Chair)
- Rep. Jackson Lee
- Rep. Demings
- Rep. McBath

- Rep. Deutch
- Rep. Richmond
- Rep. Jeffries
- Rep. Cicilline
- Rep. Lieu
- Rep. Dean
- Rep. Mucarsel-Powell
- Rep. Cohen

Subcommittee on Immigration and Citizenship:

- Rep. Lofgren (Chair)
- Rep. Jayapal
- Rep. Correa
- Rep. Garcia
- Rep. Neguse
- Rep. Mucarsel-Powell
- Rep. Escobar
- Rep. Jackson Lee
- Rep. Scanlon

Subcommittee on Courts, Intellectual Property, and the Internet:

- Rep. Johnson (Chair)
- Rep. Deutch
- Rep. Richmond
- Rep. Jeffries
- Rep. Lieu
- Rep. Stanton
- Rep. Lofgren
- Rep. Cohen
- Rep. Bass
- Rep. Swalwell
- Rep. Correa

###