Congressman Cohen on Fact-Finding Visit to Mexican Border

July 31, 2019
Press Release
Will observe implementation of Trump immigration policies

WASHINGTON – On Thursday, August 1, and Friday, August 2, Congressman Steve Cohen (TN-09) will join Congresswoman Veronica Escobar (TX-16), House Democratic Caucus Chairman Hakeem Jeffries (NY-08) and a delegation of 22 additional House Members to investigate the impact of Trump Administration immigration policies in and around El Paso, Texas. Congressman Cohen will also participate in a press conference at 5 p.m. Mountain Time (6 p.m. Central Time; 7 p.m. Eastern Time) on Thursday, which will be live-streamed by the Democratic Caucus.  


Congressman Cohen made the following statement before heading for Texas: 


“I’m going to El Paso because I think it’s critical to observe and engage on the ground with those involved in the cross-border migration from Central America and with those whose jobs are to manage it humanely. We’ve all heard horrific stories about the conditions at some of these facilities and about efforts to modify U.S. asylum policy in ways that violate long-standing American traditions. I want to see it up close to provide better oversight of our efforts to deal with this humanitarian crisis on our border. I also want to thank Congresswoman Escobar for hosting the delegation in her district and for providing access to local Texas experts and advocates.” 


Besides Congressman Cohen, Congresswoman Escobar and Congressman Jeffries, the following Members of Congress will be on the delegation trip: 


Congressman John Yarmuth (KY-03) 
Congresswoman Alma Adams (NC-12) 
Congressman Ami Bera (CA-07) 
Congressman Earl Blumenauer (OR-03) 
Congresswoman Julia Brownley (CA-26) 
Congressman Gil Cisneros (CA-39)  
Congressman Jim Cooper (TN-05) 
Congressman Bill Foster (IL-11) 
Congressman Josh Gottheimer (NJ-05) 
Congressman Dennis “Denny” Heck (WA-10) 
Congresswoman Sheila Jackson Lee (TX-18) 
Congressman Ro Khanna (CA-17) 
Congressman Raja Krishnamoorthi (IL-08) 
Congressman Stephen Lynch (MA-08) 
Congressman Tom Malinowski (NJ-07) 
Congressman Joe Morelle (NY-25) 
Congressman Joe Neguse (CO-02) 
Congressman Jamie Raskin (MD-08) 
Congresswoman Lizzie Fletcher (TX-07) 
Congresswoman Jan Schakowsky (IL-09) 
Congressman Brad Schneider (IL-10) 
Congresswoman Haley Stevens (MI-11)