Ranking Member Cohen Introduces Resolution of No Confidence in President Donald Trump

July 19, 2017
Press Release

[WASHINGTON, DC] – Congressman Steve Cohen (TN-09), Ranking Member of the House Judiciary Subcommittee on the Constitution and Civil Justice, today introduced a Resolution of No Confidence in President Donald J. Trump. The resolution details President Trump’s unacceptable behavior as President and expresses a lack of confidence in his service. A copy of the resolution can be found here.

“Since taking office in January, President Trump has exhibited unacceptable and often offensive behavior for a President of the United States,” said Congressman Cohen. “He has taken the unprecedented action in the modern era of refusing to release his tax returns. He has refused to divest from his private business interests, creating conflicts of interest and potential violations of the Constitution’s emoluments clause. He fired his F.B.I. Director while the F.B.I. was investigating potential collusion between the Trump campaign and Russia. He recklessly provided Russian officials with classified information during an oval office meeting. He has repeatedly used Twitter to insult and undermine the press, Congress, and the Judiciary. His Cabinet has the fewest number of women and minorities since the Reagan Administration. The gender pay gap at the Trump White House is more than double the national average. The list goes on and on and on.”

Congressman Cohen continued, “President Trump has been President for six months and his probationary period is long over. This resolution sends a clear message to the President that we disapprove of his cumulative actions, that we are simpatico with our constituents and a majority of the America people, and that we have no confidence in his service.”

Video from the press conference earlier today can be found here.

Cosponsors of the resolution include (alphabetical): Representatives Karen Bass (D-CA), Brendan Boyle (D-PA), Andre Carson (D-IN), Judy Chu (D-CA), David Cicilline (D-RI), Mark DeSaulnier (D-CA), Keith Ellison (D-MN), Adriano Espaillat (D-NY), Marcia Fudge (D-OH), Al Green (D-TX), Raul Grijalva (D-AZ), Luis Gutierrez (D-TX), Sheila Jackson-Lee (D-TX), Pramila Jayapal (D-WA), Barbara Lee (D-CA), John Lewis (D-GA), Zoe Lofgren (D-CA), Donald Payne (D-NJ), Mark Pocan (D-WI), Jamie Raskin (D-MD), Jan Schakowsky (D-IL), Maxine Waters (D-CA), Bonnie Watson Coleman (D-NJ), John Yarmuth (D-KY)